Introducing the AARC board

M. Ann McCaig, C.M., A.O.E., LL.D. Board Chair at AARC

Ann McCaig is one of Canada’s most prominent leaders in the not-for- profit sector, a well-known advocate in the areas of youth, education and health and an accomplished fundraiser. Ms. McCaig is the Chair of the Alberta Adolescent Recovery Centre (AARC) board.

As Chancellor Emeritus at the University of Calgary, Ms. McCaig has a long history as a champion for the cause of advanced education and research. She was Chancellor from 1994 to 1998 after having served as a member of the University’s Board of Governors for 10 years. She is a Director of the Gairdner Foundation, a former Trustee of the Killam Trusts and a former director of the Banff Centre Foundation. She is currently a member of the Resolve campaign cabinet and she serves on the board of the Sheldon Kennedy Child Advocacy Centre. She has served as the Chair of the Calgary Foundation, the City of Calgary Police Interpretive Centre and the Calgary Stampede Foundation. After receiving her Bachelor of Education from the University of Saskatchewan in 1961, and while working as a teacher, Ms. McCaig helped establish one of the first group homes for troubled youth in Regina. In 1970 she moved to Calgary where she began to volunteer with the Junior League and the United Way. Ms. McCaig is a Member of the Order of Canada and she has been recognized with an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from both the University of Calgary and the University of Alberta. She has received the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Award and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, the 125 th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada Award, the Alberta Order of Excellence, the Alberta Centennial Award, the Rotary Integrity Award, the Paul Harris Fellowship Rotary International Award and the YWCA Woman of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2012 Ms. McCaig was honoured at National Philanthropy Day with the Generosity of Spirit Award for Outstanding Lifetime Philanthropist.

Bill Turnbull

Fred Phillips

Joan Hollihan

Ruth Peters

Dr. Gerry Turcotte

Dr. Elizabeth Wallace

David Imbach

Allan Stordy